Teacher Certification and Testing – Pennsylvania

Teaching candidates applying for initial certification in the state of Pennsylvania generally need to take the following types of exams:

  1. Pre-service Academic Performance Assessment (PAPA) basic skills test in reading, writing, and math; and
  2. Test in fundamental content knowledge; or
  3. Subject knowledge test

These testing requirements apply to teachers for initial certification in Early Childhood Education N to 3, Elementary Education K to 6, and the following K to 12 subject areas:

  • Agriculture
  • Art
  • Business/Computer/Information Technology
  • Environmental Education
  • Family and Consumer Science
  • Health and Physical Education
  • Library Science
  • Marketing Education
  • Music
  • Reading Specialist
  • Hearing Impaired
  • Special Education N to 12
  • Speech & Language Impaired
  • Visually Impaired
  • Technology Education
  • World Languages

For further information on the teacher certification testing requirements for Pennsylvania, please click on the links below:

PAPA: Reading, Writing, Mathematics

Fundamental Subjects: Content Knowledge Exams

Praxis II Subject Area Exams

Grades PreK to 4, Special Education PreK to 8 or 7 to 12 are required to take the PAPA test plus the PECT test for their teaching certificates.

Middle and high school teachers may also be required to take Core Assessment Tests and Concentration Tests for their subject areas.

Instructional I and Educational Specialist I candidates may use the Praxis PPST to meet the requirements for evidence in basic skills in reading, writing, and math for certification.

Candidates in possession of Pennsylvania Instructional I, Instructional II or Pennsylvania Teacher Intern certificates may add other subject areas by passing the appropriate Praxis II subject area test and then submitting an application.

For further information, please visit the official Pennsylvania Department of Education webpage by clicking on the link below:

Pennsylvania Department of Education